UTAH STATE TAX COMMISSION BACK TAX RELIEFGet started resolving your state tax liabilities using the information below. If you still need help, reach out to us using the contact form to the right of this page.
The Utah Taxpayer Bill of Rights contains some useful info. It's not going to tell you exactly what you need to know, but it outlines some available options to fix you back tax problem.
UT Tax Commission Monthly Payment Plan
$5,000 is the key threshold for the USTC when dealing with back taxes.If you owe less than $5,000 the USTC, Utah should give yo up to 24 months to pay off your tax liability in monthly installments. The minimum monthly payment is $25.
If you owe more than $5,000, the USTC pays a little more attention to your situation. here's a little bit of what to expect.
- You may be required to submit financial information.
- The state could ask for a down payment before your payment plan is approved.
- The USTC would prefer keeping monthly payments to 24 or less.
- A payment plan of 24 months or less gives you a decent chance of avoiding a tax lien filing. If you default, expect a tax lien to be filed against you.
- You may be able to get more than 24 months with financial documentation to substantiate your request, but a tax lien will be filed. We've seen taxpayers get approved for 36 months.
State of Utah Offer in Compromise
Yes, Utah has an Offer in Compromise program. However, the state prefers to settle older debts rather than newer debts. Expect to provide documentation to substantiate all assets, income and expenses.
You can request a Waiver of Penalties online or in writing. However, all the tax for the period(s) owed must be paid before your request will be considered. The USTC will review your account for prior penalty waiver requests, compliance history and may request additional information or supporting documentation while reviewing your request.You will need to submit your Penalty Waiver request online, by email or in writing to your Collection Agent.